Monday, July 28th – Good behavior on dad’s first day back at work

IMG_0953IMG_0956

Ian returned to work today, which I know couldn’t have been easy for him.  He asked for frequent medical and picture updates, which I did my best to provide, but it’s obviously still not the same as physically being with his daughter.  Not to mention that he now has to wean himself off of the “Rockstar” energy drinks he’s been buying daily at the hospital…

Riley did well overnight…had a total of 4 desats, but otherwise normal.   

Morning rounds – everything is pretty much the same except the docs decided to make another big step in the weaning process for Riley today, taking her off the cycled CPAP.  So what does this mean?  It basically means that she will no longer be getting the set “breaths per minute” at a specified rate, but rather will continue to have the pressured support (allowing her lungs to stay open) with continuous oxygen airflow, which is a little bit of a higher flow than the typical nasal cannula you may have seen on that individual in the grocery store.  I’m no respiratory therapist, but that’s at least what I understand it to mean.  They will then continue to wean her pressure, which is currently at 7, until she can be weaned to one of those regular (less visible…yay) nasal cannulas.  This is big.  Go girl, go!  

Riley Mae rocked her new settings today.  I cheered her on throughout the day like only a proud parent would:)  We even were able to do kangaroo care later in the day today, and although the nurse had to bump up her O2 a bit, she tolerated the session for over an hour.  It was awesome.  I was so relaxed (for once) that I admit I may have almost dozed off.  Oops.  Don’t drop the baby, Brooke, or kangaroo care will no longer be an option for you.  

At one point during kangaroo care, Riley reached her little quarter-sized hand up towards my face and put it on my chin, and then reached a little higher, putting her tiny fingers on my bottom lip.  I kissed her warm little hand, and then she grabbed onto my hair and held the long strands in her fingers while she fell fast asleep.  These are those little things that I appreciate so, so much.  What could be better than that?  Absolutely nothing.  These are the moments that I will never take for granted.

I had a good friend from home (eastern PA) visit today.  We had a really nice time and it was a good distraction given that it was the first day I did not have the all-day, continuous company of my husband.  Thanks for making the trip to the burg, buddy:)

The rest of the day was pretty uneventful.  Riley continues to eat well and pack on the grams!  She’s currently weighing in at 3 lbs, 2.6 oz.  What a little porker:)

Came home for dinner and ate leftovers with Ian.  

Dinner conversation: “Did the nurse say how cute Riley was today?” (Ian)

                                  “Yea, she did actually.” (Brooke)

                                  “Did she then say she probably looks like her dad?” (Ian)

                                  “No, she didn’t.” (Brooke)

                                  “Oh.” (Ian)

IMG_0958IMG_0954

Leave a Reply

